People who hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) are held to higher standards than most other drivers on the road. This is because holding a CDL typically means you are driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) quite often, which is typically very large and heavy-duty. CMV’s are plenty safe when they are used in a correct and safe manner, but they can become extremely dangerous if a person drives recklessly or carelessly. Both state governments and the federal government have the power to create and enforce rules about CDL’s, CMV’s and the people who utilize them. In certain situations, your CDL can be put into danger of being revoked or disqualified if you commit certain acts, such as driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
If you are charged with a DUI and you hold a CDL, you not only face penalties pertaining to your CDL but also to your standard Illinois driving privileges. A first-time DUI in Illinois is charged as a Class A misdemeanor, meaning you face up to one year in prison, up to $2,500 in fines and a one-year driver’s license revocation.
According to Illinois law, your CDL can be disqualified for a minimum of 12 months if you commit a first violation of:
If you have been charged with a DUI and you hold a CDL, you could be facing serious consequences. Even if you were not driving a CMV at the time of your DUI, your commercial driving privileges could still be in jeopardy. At Myers Law LLC, we understand how serious an Illinois DUI charge is. Let our skilled Oak Brook, IL CDL violations defense lawyer take a look at your case and help you fight to keep your CDL. We offer free 15-minute phone consultations; just call our office today at 844-984-3529 to schedule a time.