One of the many things that are up to states’ discretion is the issuance and control of driver’s licenses. The age at which you can apply for your learner’s permit and then your driver’s license is different in each state. In some states, you get receive your learner’s permit at the age of 14 while in other states you must be at least 16. In Illinois, you must be 15 years old to apply for a learner’s permit and 16 to apply for a junior license. You must also meet certain requirements for training and experience before you will be granted either the learner’s permit or the license. Young people tend to make poor decisions sometimes, which is why they are subject to a few laws that are more strict than adult laws. Violations of traffic laws can lead to unfavorable consequences.
Court Supervision and Moving Violations: Drivers under the age of 21 are limited to one sentence of court supervision for serious traffic offenses. Drivers under the age of 21 are only eligible for court supervision if they attend traffic safety school, while drivers under the age of 18 must appear in court with a parent in addition to attending traffic safety school.
Moving Violations and Loss of Driving Privileges: Drivers under the age of 21 who are convicted of two or more moving violations within a 24-month period will have their driver’s license suspended for at least 30 days. Remedial education courses may be part of the requirement to get their driver’s license reinstated.
Alcohol Consumption and Driving Privileges: If a driver is under the age of 21 (the legal drinking age) and they received court supervision for possession, consumption, purchase or receipt of alcohol, they will be subject to a three-month suspension of their driver’s license, whether or not the charges had anything to do with a vehicle.
Nighttime Driving Restrictions and Driver’s License Suspensions: In Illinois, drivers who have either a learner’s permit or a junior license are subject to nighttime driving restrictions. Not including any local curfew laws, these drivers are not permitted to drive Sunday--Thursday, 10 p.m.--6 a.m. and Friday--Saturday, 11 p.m.--6 a.m. Those who violate these curfew rules can have their driving privileges suspended.
Many parents are excited for their children once they reach the age when they are able to drive. Though it is an exciting time in their life, it is important to remember that more privileges come with more responsibility. There are certain things that you can get in trouble for if you do not obey the rules. At Myers Law, LLC, we understand how exciting it can be when your child has the ability to drive, but we also understand the consequences they face when they get into trouble. If your child has received a traffic ticket or they are facing a driver’s license suspension because of a traffic violation, our highly-trained Oak Brook juvenile traffic ticket lawyer can help. Contact our office today by calling 844-984-3529 to schedule your free consultation.