When it is time for your teen to get behind the wheel of the car on their own, it can be a scary experience for some parents. Letting your teen drive without you in the vehicle means you hope they know well enough to practice safe driving behaviors on the road. Unfortunately, when many teens head out on the road, they do not always follow the rules, which can lead to deadly consequences. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, car crashes are still the leading cause of death for teenagers. Here are a few different behaviors that are common for teen drivers that are not only dangerous but could also land them a traffic ticket or more:
In general, distracted driving occurs when the driver’s attention is taken away from the task of driving for any reason. One of the most common ways drivers are distracted while they are driving is because of electronic devices such as cell phones. In Illinois, it is illegal for anyone, including teenagers, to text while driving. In addition, it is illegal for teens under the age of 19 to use even a hands-free device while they are driving. Violation of these laws could result in fines ranging from $75-$150. If your teen causes an accident because of the fact they were using an electronic device, they could be facing misdemeanor or felony charges.
Teens are also notorious for disregarding speed limits. There are many reasons why people speed, but teens tend to speed because they either were distracted while they were driving and did not take note of the speed limit, or they knew of the speed limit but decided to disregard it anyway. A speeding ticket could result in expensive fines and if your teen was speeding enough, they could even be facing misdemeanor criminal charges.
Though the number of teens who drink and drive has decreased significantly in recent years, there are still some teens who partake in this dangerous behavior. In Illinois, it is illegal for anyone to operate a vehicle when they have a BAC of more than 0.08. When it comes to drivers who are under the age of 21, it is illegal for them to operate a vehicle with any BAC over 0.00. Illinois’ Zero Tolerance law states that an underage driver who has a BAC of more than 0.00 faces a three-month driver’s license suspension for a first offense. In addition, teens are also subject to adult DUI, meaning they could face even stiffer penalties if they were found to be under the influence while driving or had a BAC of more than 0.08.
We were all teenagers at one point; we all know that teenagers do not always make the best decisions. If your teen has gotten themselves a traffic ticket for breaking the law while driving, you should hire a knowledgeable Western Springs, IL traffic ticket defense lawyer as soon as possible. At Myers Law LLC, we know that everyone makes mistakes from time to time, especially teenagers. We can help you keep your teen’s driving record clear. For a free, 15-minute phone consultation, call our office today at 844-984-3529.