There are hundreds of traffic laws that drivers must obey when they operate a vehicle in Illinois. Violating any of these laws can result in expensive fines and depending on the offense, even criminal charges or jail time. One of the more significant changes that went into place recently was to Scott’s Law, which exists to protect police officers and other law enforcement officials when they are stopped on the side of the road. According to the Illinois State Police, 27 stationary police cars were hit in 2019, killing three officers. Now, increased fines have been put into place for violations of Scott’s Law and other traffic laws.
Changes to Scott’s Law
In 2002, Scott’s Law was passed after a first responder was struck and killed while performing a traffic stop. The law requires drivers to switch lanes when a police officer or other authorized personnel is pulled over on the side of the road. If it is not safe or if the driver is unable to do so, they are required to slow down.
Illinois State Police state that there were more than 5,800 tickets issued for violations of Scott’s Law in 2019, while in 2018, there were only 738 tickets issued for the same thing. The updates to the law have increased fines for a first offense from $100 to $250. Second and subsequent violations carry a minimum fine of $750. All Scott’s Law violators will also be charged an additional $250 to fund education about the law....