2021 Midwest Road, Suite 200
Oak Brook, IL 60523
Map & Directions
ENGLISHESPAÑOL
FREE 15 MINUTE PHONE CONSULTATION
(844) 9-THE-LAW
Se habla español
844-984-3529
Myers Law LLC
Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in DuPage County speeding defense lawyer

IL defense lawyerIn 2017, speeding was a contributing factor in 26 percent of all fatal traffic accidents. This is why many states, including Illinois, have made speeding a serious traffic offense when you go more than a certain speed over the speed limit. Any driver who speeds is breaking the law, but when a person who holds a commercial driver’s license (CDL) speeds, the consequences can be more severe and can affect their lives in different ways. Many people who hold a commercial driver’s license rely on the validity of that license for their main source of income. Speeding while you are driving a commercial vehicle is a big no-no and can result in strict penalties.

Illinois Speeding Laws

For all drivers, Illinois speeding laws are applicable. If you are caught driving more than 26 mph over the posted speed limit, but less than 35 mph over, you are breaking the law and can be hit with criminal charges. This is a Class B misdemeanor, so you will face up to six months in prison and up to $1,500 in fines. If you are caught driving more than 35 mph over the posted speed limit, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. This means you can face up to a year in prison and up to $2,500 in fines.

Special Considerations for CDL Drivers

According to Illinois law, you also face greater consequences if you hold a CDL -- whether or not you were actually driving a commercial vehicle at the time of the incident. If you hold a CDL and you were caught driving more than 15 mph over the posted speed limit, you have committed a serious traffic violation, regardless of the vehicle you were driving at the time. A serious traffic violation is an offense that CDL drivers must take seriously. After two convictions for serious traffic violations within three years of each other, the driver’s CDL must be disqualified for at least two months.

...

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.