DuPage County DUI Attorney
Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer Serving Clients in Wheaton, Elmhurst and Oak Brook
A driving under the influence (DUI) charge is not a regular traffic violation that you can just pay through the mail and forget about. When you are pulled over, and you blow over a 0.08 blood alcohol content (BAC) in a Breathalyzer test, you will be arrested and taken to jail. Even if you do not blow, and the police officer believes you are drunk, you can still be arrested and forced to fight DUI charges. You can also be arrested for DUI if the officer believes you are under the influence of drugs, illegal or legal. Then, you will have to appear in court and enter a plea of guilty or not guilty. It can take a lot of time to fight a DUI charge, so you should have an experienced attorney on your side to defend your rights.
Attorney Clarissa R.E. Myers has experience defending clients who have been charged with DUI. Ms. Myers is determined to fight for her clients’ freedom so they can continue to lead normal lives through the DUI hearing process. As a skilled attorney, she develops an aggressive defense strategy to get the best resolution for each client.
DUI in Illinois
If you drive for a living, receiving a DUI can put an end to your livelihood. You may also lose your job if you cannot drive to work, or you may have to rely on alternative means of transportation. If you are convicted of a DUI, you may lose your job if you cannot find another way to work.
First and second DUI offenses are classified as misdemeanors unless someone was injured or killed as a result. If you receive a third DUI or cause injury to or kill someone, the DUI is classified as a felony. If convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, your license will either be suspended or revoked, depending on the charge, for a minimum of one year. With a misdemeanor conviction, you can also receive up to one year in jail and up to a $2,500 fine.
Drivers under 21 years of age are held to a stricter standard. There is “no tolerance policy” in effect if you are on a graduated license. You can lose your license until you are 21 years of age if you are underage and convicted of a DUI. Since Illinois is considered an implied consent state, if a driver under 21 refuses to take a BAC breath test, the police officer can immediately arrest you and suspend your license.
Contact an Illinois DUI Defense Attorney
A DUI charge is not a regular traffic violation. It can negatively affect your permanent record and may not be able to be expunged if you are convicted. You should have an experienced and determined lawyer on your side who will defend you in the courtroom. At Myers Law LLC, we have the knowledge and tenacity to defend DUI charges in DuPage County. Ms. Myers gives trusted legal advice, speaks Spanish, and will work hard to get you the best possible outcome.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence, contact Myers Law LLC at 844-9-THE-LAW (844-984-3529844-984-3529) today for a free 15 minute phone consultation. We are located in Oak Brook and serve clients in Oakbrook Terrace, Addison, Glendale Heights, Aurora, Lombard, Elmhurst, Wheaton, and the surrounding DuPage County areas. Se habla español.